Organization of the Nuclear Industries of Canada Congratulates its 2021 Supplier Award Winners and Announces New Board of Directors

The Organization of Canadian Nuclear Industries (OCNI) held its second virtual AGM and awards event on November 25 with the participation of its 248 member companies.

PICKERING, ONTARIO, CANADA, Nov 25, 2021 / – The OCNI 2021 Supplier Excellence Awards were presented to five OCNI member companies by OCNI President and CEO Ron Oberth. “I am proud to recognize OCNI member companies for their accomplishments that exemplify the strength and depth of Canada’s nuclear supply chain. Ron said announcing the winners:

Balance Means Business Award: X-energy Canada for helping the nuclear industry advance equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) and for being a leader in demonstrating value of gender diversity in improving business excellence.

Customer Service Award: Nu-Tech Precision Metals Inc. for consistently exceeding customer expectations and building a distinguished reputation based on a history of providing solutions for customers in the nuclear energy industry.

Innovation Award: Brotech Precision CNC for the development of an innovative robotic process automation system to review and approve documents with speed, productivity and management oversight for the Canadian nuclear industry.

“Innovation” Prize: L3Harris Technologies for three years of in-depth research and technical development of the first real-time simulation of a Generation IV molten salt reactor, the Orchid®based on IMSR® plant simulator.

“Export” award: Kanata Electronic Services Ltd. for providing leading nuclear products and services to customers in Romania, Korea, Argentina and China; and for achieving significant export growth of 49% in the past year.

OCNI is also pleased to announce that Ahab Abdel-Aziz of Gowling WLG has been re-elected as Chairman of the Board. The members of the OCNI also approved the appointment of five new directors for three-year terms on the board of directors of the OCNI, composed of 15 people. The list of OCNI directors for 2021-2022 includes:

Ahab Abdel-Aziz de Gowling WLG – President

Desiree Norwegian of Atunda Inc. – Vice President

Tanya Bodiroga of AMAG Inc. – Secretary

Doug Brophy of United Engineers & Constructors, Inc. – Treasurer

Alex Sakuta from Promation Nuclear – back

Andrew Lawrence from Deep Trekker – back

Domenica Macasevic of Trillium Flow Technologies – back

Fabricia Piñeiro from Westinghouse – back

Mario Pieries of Hatch – back

Michael Chatlani from L3Harris – back

Amy Gottschling of Kinectrics – newly appointed

Lisa McBride of GE Hitachi Nuclear – newly appointed

Matt MacDonald of Aecon – newly appointed

BWXT’s Natalie Cutler – Newly Appointed

SNC-Lavalin’s Simona Besnea – newly appointed


The Organization of Canadian Nuclear Industries (OCNI) is an association of more than 240 suppliers to the Canadian and international nuclear industry that employs more than 15,000 highly skilled and skilled engineers, technologists and tradespeople. OCNI companies design reactors, manufacture major equipment and components, and provide engineering services and support to CANDU nuclear power plants in Canada as well as CANDU power plants and light water reactors (LWRs) on offshore markets.

Dr Ronald Oberth
write us here
Visit us on social networks:

About Wanda Reilly

Check Also

Once Called National Landing, Amazon’s Arlington Area Tries “NaLa”

Comment this story Comment At first he appeared on freebie Bottles of water. Then he …